Bruce Spence honoured with 2024 Equity Lifetime Achievement Award

By 18 March 2024 Uncategorized

The Equity Foundation is delighted to announce that esteemed performer and supporter of performers in need, Bruce Spence, is the recipient of the 2024 Equity Lifetime Achievement Award.

Bruce was selected from a vast and impressive field of nominees by the Equity National Performers’ Committee, who praised Bruce for his immense contribution to Australia’s cultural landscape, being a vocal and constant activist for actors’ rights and dedicating countless hours to fundraising and assisting those experiencing hardship.

Bruce began his acting career in Melbourne in the late 1960s as an inaugural member of the revolutionary Australian Performing Group. His long and distinguished stage career includes numerous credits with the Melbourne Theatre Company, South Australian Theatre Company, Griffin and Sydney Theatre Company, where he still performs regularly. On film Bruce played the lead role in Stork (1971), for which he won the AFI Award for Best Actor. He has amassed over 100 film and television credits including the likes of Mad Max 2, The Matrix, Star Wars, The Lord of the Rings, The Dry, The Drovers Wife and Ten Pound Poms.

Equity president Jason Klarwein said Bruce’s name has come up many times for this prestigious award. “Bruce is someone who has the utmost respect from his peers, his union and his industry. He’s a performer we love to watch and to work with. He’s a mentor and teacher to the next generation. A huge supporter of Equity’s work. And as chair of Actors Benevolent Fund during COVID he carried his community through a very dark time, earning deep admiration from all who were touched by his and the fund’s remarkable efforts.”

Bruce has been a proud Equity member since 1971, served as NSW State President, Federal Vice President and chaired the Actors Benevolent Fund of NSW from 2019-2023.

Bruce will be honoured at an awards ceremony in Sydney later this year.

The Equity Lifetime Achievement Award was established in 2009 to honour the achievements of leading Australian performers who have had a distinguished career and been an inspiration to other Australian performers. Past recipients include Peter Carroll, Bob Hornery, Maggie Dence, Ron Haddrick, Jill Perryman, Kevan Johnston, Toni Lamond AM, Grant Page, Anne Phelan, Noeline Brown, Julia Blake Terry Norris, Lillian Crombie, Ningali Lawford-Wolf, John Bell, Anna Volska and Chris Anderson.

The 2024 Equity Lifetime Achievement Award is proudly supported by Media Super.